Books of April: What I’ve Been Reading

This last month has not left me with a bunch of time for reading. I have begun taking final exams for my classes and trying so hard to 4.0 them! It isn’t as easy as it looks. I have, however, taken the time to read a couple of interesting books.

This month I started with the second Three Girls novel by Rachel Shurig and also included the third novel in the series as well! I loved these books for multiple reasons. They are not trashy romance novels. (although who doesn’t love a trashy romance every once in awhile, right?) They are very clean, fun, easy to love novels that are quick reads. The first one is Three Girls and a Wedding. This one is about Jen Campbell, one of the friends from the first book. Then Three Girls and a Leading Man  is the third book. I would suggest reading the first book (check out my last post on this topic) before these two.  I have linked the boxed e-book set for all three below.

http://www.amazon.com/Three-Girls-Complete-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B00AR8TPFQ/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1367522712&sr=1-2&keywords=three+girls+and+a+wedding

 

Then I read Matched by Allie Condie. This book was not amazing like Divergent or The Hunger Games, but it was good. I have not rushed out to get the second one and I wish I had bought it used instead of brand new at the cover price. I have been in a dystopia phase lately and this was high on my list of books to read, but I am not sure that I will read the second one. If I do, you all will know. 🙂

http://www.amazon.com/Matched-Ally-Condie/dp/014241977X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1367522635&sr=8-1&keywords=matched

 

Then I check out this AWFUL book from the library. When I say awful, I mean ABSOLUTELY terrible. Secrets of my Heart by Cassie Edwards seemed like an amazing book from the back story, but turned into something that was absolutely disgusting. The heroine, who is only 16, has lost everything in the last year.  She ends up going out west, sleeping with a guy immediately, getting raped and enjoying it, having a son who wants to marry her and sleep with her, gets sold to a brothel and the story goes on and on. This was one book I do not suggest. In any way, shape or form.  I won’t even link this one below because it was so bad.

I decided to pick up a feel good book and found The Smart One and The Pretty One by Claire LaZebrink. This book was very cute. The two main characters (the smart one, and the pretty one) are sisters and this book is about how they become closer and ultimately better friends and people, when their mother has cancer.  A quick read, that is cute.

http://www.amazon.com/Smart-One-Pretty/dp/0446582069/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1367522835&sr=1-1&keywords=the+smart+one+and+the+pretty+one

 

The last  book I read this month was one that I have been dying to read but never ended up picking up. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald is a good book that is actually more accurately a novella by our current standards. This literary classic definitely had themes of  the american dream and money in it. I enjoyed it and am so glad I read this now before I saw the movie ( it comes out on May 10th!!) This is worth your time, in my humble opinion 🙂

http://www.amazon.com/Great-Gatsby-F-Scott-Fitzgerald/dp/0743273567/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1367522874&sr=1-1&keywords=the+great+gatsby

Surprisingly, I did not read many books this month, but I hope you check out these, the books from last month and leave a few books in the comments below 🙂

 

Happy spring!

 

(all images in this post are from the amazon link below the description.)

Leave some of your own words of wisdom and other findings...

