A Preppy Girl’s Guide to the Fourth of July

‘MERICA.

It’s finally almost the fourth of July and I don’t know about you, but every year I struggle to find the perfect outfit. I know that I want an outfit that is comfortable and casually cute, yet patriotic in spirit of the holiday. I wish I could say that I owned something american flag print, but I don’t. Since this is the case, I had to search for something in my closet that resembled the colors of  the flag in my outfit.

Now I don’t wear a ton of red, but I do own white. I figured a white shirt and a blue skirt from JCrew and a red rosette necklace would be perfect. Something red like a scarf or a necklace, your shoes or even swap the white shirt out for a red one, anything will do. I chose to wear the skirt below (from JCrew) and finally through a process of elimination, a buttonup knit from BCBG.

For accessories, to go with necklace, I picked my gold gladiator sandals with my pearl earrings and gold accessory accents. Here is the look I went for:

 

untitled

Leave some of your own words of wisdom and other findings...

