College 101: Back To School Essentials

back 2 school
With the start of school quickly approaching, I find myself more and more drawn to the cute things every college kid needs for school. As I thought of my own “essentials” or things I couldn’t live without, I managed to come up with things that I should or wished I had for school as well.
Naturally, not everyone can afford the brand in the collage above, but anything like it will do! To start with, I put up a picture of my own backpack (which I love!) I had wanted a Vera Bradley backpack since high school and when I finally purchased it, I was estatic! The one I have is called the Campus Backpack in Portabello Road (which is the same as the laptop case print!) You can find these on the Vera Bradley website in so many cute patterns! Keep reading to find out how you can win the laptop case in the same print!
My Lilly Pulitzer agenda (pictured here in Peelin’ Out) is my absolute, number 1 must have for the school year. I use this agenda everyday and even when I have switched to another kind, I always go back to Lilly. The set up of this agenda is absolutely amazing, but you can find any agenda that will work to keep yourself organized!
I don’t know about all of you guys, but I always get super thirsty during class. Sometimes, I carry a travel coffee mug (like the Lilly one pictured above!) or a tumbler, this Kate Spade one looks huge! The tumbler I use is my monogramed one (which you can find all my monogrammed items and their etsy shops here .
Another rather obvious must have for me are notebooks! The Kate Spade ones above are definitely on my wish list, but I always go for the .89 cent ones from Target. Going along with the theme of school supplies, I added a Kindle and a book to the picture because obviously you have textbooks at school! For me personally, my english major requires a lot of fiction lit, so this especially applies.
Some essentials I keep in my back on a day to day basis are headphones for waiting between classes and chapstick. I can not stand having chapped lips, it drives me absolutely insane! I love the chapstick brand of lip balm, always have. I also keep a wallet with a phone case (Lilly shown above), a lanyard for my keys (Vera Bradley shown above) and a watch on my wrist so I don’t need my phone during class. The less distraction the better!!
As far as dressing for class goes, I usually try to be comfortable and save my dressier clothing for my non-class days. However, a few things are always with me. I usually wear my pearl earrings. They are simple, classy and can go with just about anything. I also wear my glasses often, because contacts can be a pain when getting ready to go quickly! The ones above look almost exactly like mine and are from Warby Parker. You can read my review of this company here. I also think a cute phone case is a must, so that when you’re in a public place, you know which phone is yours with your cute monogram. 🙂
Finally, my last back to school essential is a cute manicure. Whether you diy it or go into a professional, it helps me feel confident on the first day of classes!
So, now for the exciting part of this post! In honor of one of my favorite times (back to school shopping), I am hosting my first giveaway! The winner (announced on August 21st) will receive a Vera Bradley Laptop case in Portobello road as well as a few school essentials every one needs at some point or another! I am so unbelievably excited for this, however, there are a few rules.
1. you must be eighteen or older
2. must live in the United States (Sorry!)
3. Must complete at least One activity stated on the rafflecopter widget!

Disclaimer: This is not sponsored in any way and was purchased by me.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave some of your own words of wisdom and other findings...

